AUTHORITY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

The chairman is interested in getting your preferences for committee membership. Below is a summary of each committee's work. Please complete the form on the back of this page.

Legislation and Regulations Committee

This committee reviews criminal justice-related legislation and regulations proposed by Authority staff and other agencies. It also provides testimony and makes recommendations to the governor and General Assembly, as provided in the Illinois Criminal Justice Information Act. The committee studies and recommends regulations to ensure the privacy and security of criminal history record information as required by law.

Budget Committee

The Budget Committee reviews the Authority's budget and oversees the Criminal Justice Trust Fund. It receives fiscal reports about the funds made available to further the purposes of the Illinois Criminal Justice Information Act and oversees the grant award procedures of the Authority. In addition, committee members may present testimony and advocate for the Authority's budget request before the governor and General Assembly.

Information Systems Committee

This committee reviews and monitors the development and operation of comprehensive information systems in Illinois. The Information Systems Committee also oversees the annual and periodic audits of the state central repositories, as provided in the Illinois Criminal Justice Information Act, and evaluates programs and makes recommendations regarding the proper reporting of automated dispositions to the Illinois State Police by state's attorneys and clerks of the circuit courts. In addition, the committee reviews integration efforts to ensure that they fall within the broader goals of statewide justice information systems coordination.

Planning and Research Committee

The Planning and Research Committee reviews the research projects, proposals, and programs of the Authority's Research & Analysis Unit, and evaluates and correlates state and local programs, as provided in the Illinois Criminal Justice Information Act. The Planning and Research Committee also helps determine research and evaluation priorities in meeting the needs of decision-makers. The Planning and Research Committee oversees the Institutional Review Board to ensure the protection of human research subjects and compliance with applicable laws and regulations. The board reviews all research involving human subjects that is conducted, sponsored, or supported by the Authority.

Appeals Committee

The Appeals Committee decides administrative appeals by citizens who have challenged the accuracy and completeness of their state criminal history records.

AUTHORITY COMPOSITION, MEMBERSHIP, AND COMMITTEES

The Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority is currently governed by a 21-member board of state and local leaders in the criminal justice community, and experts from the private sector. A chairman, who is appointed by the governor from among the board's members, leads the Authority.

Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority

Members serving by statute:					
•	Illinois Attorney General (or designee).				
•	Director, Illinois State Police.				
•	Director, Illinois Department of Corrections.				
•	Director, Office of the State's Attorney's Appellate Prosecutor.				
٠	Director, Office of the State Appellate Defender.				
•	Executive Director, Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board.				
•	Superintendent of the Chicago Police Department.				
•	Cook County State's Attorney.				
•	Cook County Board President.				
•	Cook County Circuit Court Clerk.				
•	Cook County Sheriff.				
Members appointed by the Governor:					
•	Six members of the public.				
٠	A police chief.				
•	A sheriff.				
٠	A state's attorney.				
•	A circuit court clerk.				

Current Authority Board membership

Member	Current Incumbent	Original Appointment Date	Last Appointment Date	Current Term Expiration Date
Member of the General Public	Sheldon Sorosky, Chair	7/29/03		1/15/07
Member of the General Public	Barbara Engel	6/6/91	5/28/03	1/15/07
Member of the General Public	Mariyana Spyropoulos	9/8/06		1/18/10
Member of the General Public	John Z. Toscas	7/1/02		1/16/06
Member of the General Public	Eugene E. Murphy Jr.	5/12/03		1/15/07
Member of the General Public	Bradley G. Demuzio	1/12/04		1/19/09
A Police Chief	David Bradford	5/12/03		1/15/07
A Sheriff	Jerry Dawson	5/13/05		1/19/09
A State's Attorney	William Mudge	1/12/04		1/15/07
A Circuit Court Clerk	Becky Jansen	2/15/06		1/14/08
Illinois Attorney General	Lisa Madigan			
Director of State Police	Larry G. Trent			
Director of Corrections	Roger E. Walker Jr.			
Director, Office of State's Attorney's Appellate Prosecutor	Norbert Goetten			
Director, Office of the State Appellate Defender	Michael J. Pelletier			
Director, Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board	Thomas J. Jurkanin			
Superintendent, Chicago Police Department	Jody Weis	Not Applicable		
Cook County State's Attorney	Richard A. Devine			
Cook County Board President	Todd Stroger			
Cook County Circuit Court Clerk	Dorothy Brown			
Cook County Sheriff	Thomas Dart			

Committee assignments

Committee:	Legislation & Regulation	Budget	Information Systems	Planning & Research	Appeals
Chair	Goetten	Murphy	Brown	Engel	Toscas
Vice Chair	Madigan	Devine	Sorosky	Mudge	
	Bradford	Bradford	Dawson	Brown	Demuzio
	Dawson	Engel			Engel
	Pelletier	Jansen	Devine		Pelletier
Members	Murphy	Jurkanin	Goetten	Jurkanin	
	Trent	Madigan	Jansen	Sheahan	
	Walker	Trent	Trent	Toscas	
				Walker	

Authority Member committee designees

Ex Officio Authority Members (those serving by statute) are permitted to designate individuals to represent them at any and all committee meetings. This table reflects current designations.

Ex Officio Authority Member	Legislation & Regulation	Budget	Information Systems	Planning & Research
Dorothy Brown	Al Levin & Elena Demos	John Morales	Craig Wimberly	Bernadette Freeman
Thomas Dart		Marjorie O'Dea		John Walsh
Richard A. Devine	Bridget Healey-Ryan	Bridget Healey-Ryan	Bridget Healey-Ryan	
Norbert J. Goetten				
Michael J. Pelletier				
Thomas J. Jurkanin				
Lisa Madigan	Ellen Mandeltort	Ellen Mandeltort	Ellen Mandeltort	Ellen Mandeltort
Jody Weis	Theodore F. O'Keefe	Theodore F. O'Keefe	Jonathan Lewin	Hiram Grau
Todd Stroger	Dan Coughlin			
Larry G. Trent				
Roger E. Walker Jr.	Tony Small	Tony Small		